Books for kids age 6 to 12

Big books and small books suitable for primary school readers of different ages! The recommended reading age is listed for each of them.

9781405292481.png

Barry Loser and the Trouble with Pets

Jim Smith

As far back as Barry can remember, he’s always wanted a sausage dog.

 

They’re like two of his favourite things (sausages and dogs) squidged together! Who cares if they bark the whole time, do poos everywhere, need three walks every day and stop you going to the cinema with your friends?

 

Not Barry. Until he actukeely gets a real-life sausage dog, that is . .

Perfect for fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Dog Man, Tom Gates and Pamela Butchart

Age group: 7 to 9 yo

The Hundred and One Dalmations

Dodie Smith & Alex T Smith

Cruella de Vil is enough to frighten the spots off a Dalmatian puppy. So when she steals a whole family of them, the puppies’ parents, Pongo and Missus, lose no time in mounting a daring rescue mission.

Will they be in time to thwart Cruella’s evil scheme, or have they bitten off more than they can chew?

A hundred and one dalmatians and more! This bumper Modern Classic edition includes the original Hundred and One Dalmatians and Dodie Smith's sequel, Starlight Barking.

Age group: 9 years and over

9781405288750.png
9781405287531.jpg

Sam Wu is NOT Afraid of the Dark!

Katie & Kevin Tsang, Nathan Reed

Sam Wu is NOT afraid of anything.

 

Except for quite a lot of things. Like ghosts. Sharks too. And also THE DARK! And so when Sam goes camping in the woods with his friends and cousin Stanley, who knows what scary kind of things they’ll face . . .?

Sam Wu is NOT Afraid of the Dark is the third book in this brilliantly funny and accessible new series - perfect for newly confident readers, fans of Pamela Butchart and Julian Gough's Rabbit and Bear.

Age group: 6 to 9 yo

Sea (The Huntress Trilogy)

Sarah Driver

Ever since Ma died, Mouse has looked after her little brother, Sparrow, dreaming of her destiny as captain of the Huntress. But now Da’s missing, Sparrow is in danger, and a deathly cold is creeping across Trianukka . . .

 

Sea-churning, beast-chattering, dream-dancing, whale-riding, terrodyl-flying, world-saving adventure.

The first book in a stunning new fantasy adventure trilogy, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Piers Torday, Abi Elphinstone, Katherine Rundell and Frances Hardinge.

Age group: 9 to 12 yo

9781405284677.jpg
9781405294010.jpg

The Amelia Jane Collection

Enid Blyton

 

Amelia Jane has an uncanny knack for getting herself into mischief and into trouble with the rest of the toys in the playroom – from snipping off pink rabbit's tail to hiding under a big pile of alphabet blocks to scribbling on walls. But really, Amelia Jane has a brave and adventurous heart of gold - and when the toys need rescuing, it's Amelia Jane to the rescue!

Meet Amelia Jane! She's a (mischievous) Strong Independent rag doll and she's about to enchant a whole new generation of readers! And this big bumper edition contains three Amelia Jane books in one - each a collection of classic fantastical short stories from the world's best-loved children's author, Enid Blyton.

Age group: 6 to 8 yo

The Naughtiest Unicorn and the School Disco

Pip Bird & David O'Connell

Everyone at Unicorn School is SUPER excited about the end-of-term school disco - the pupils and their unicorns can't wait to put on their party outfits and hit the dance floor!

But when Darcy hijacks the quest trying to find a special giant disco ball, it's up to Mira and Dave to put things right. Will Class Red make it out of the Crystal Maze Mine? And will Mira and Dave get to show everyone their awesome disco moves?!

Join the naughtiest unicorn for magic and mayhem in this hilarious series for fans of Pamela Butchart, Rabbit and Bear, The Worst Witch and UNICORNS!

Age group: 6 to 8 yo

9781405294812.jpg
9781405295093.jpg

The Last Kids on Earth

Max Brallier & Douglas Holgate

 

Meet Jack Sullivan, self-described as a late-blooming, slow-developing 13-year-old who has so far survived the zombie apocalypse by hiding out in his treehouse. Overnight Jack’s life has become like the plot of a video game and he has come up with his own ULTIMATE FEATS OF APOCALYPTIC SUCCESS:

· Locate Quint Baker, best friend and inventor
· Find and rescue June Del Toro, his secret love interest
· Defeat Blarg, the biggest, baddest monster in town
· Become a zombie-fighting, monster-bashing tornado of cool!

The Simpsons meets The Walking Dead in the first book of a hilarious new monster adventure series

Age group: 8 to 12 yo

Spies in St. Petersburg

Katherine Woodfine & Karl James Mountford

With Sophie still missing in action after their explosive mission in Paris, Lil decides to take matters into her own hands. On a new mission for the Secret Service Bureau, can Lil find Sophie in misty, mysterious St Petersburg?

Can they uncover the identity of their true enemy and can they trust anyone – even the Bureau?

It's time for Sophie and Lil to put their spy skills to the test.

A thrilling story for young detectives and fans of Robin Stevens' Murder Most Unladlylike

Age group: 9 to 12 yo

9781405287050.jpg
9781405295314.jpg

Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt

Ben Clanton

 

Happy-go-lucky Narwhal and no-nonsense Jelly find their inner superheroes in three new under-the-sea adventures.

 

In the first story, Narwhal reveals his superhero alter-ego and enlists Jelly to help him figure out what his superpower is. Next, Narwhal uses his superpower to help a friend find his way back home. In the third story, Jelly is feeling blue and Narwhal comes to the rescue.

A wonderfully silly early graphic novel series featuring three short stories and super fun ocean facts and jokes!

Age group: 5 to 7 yo

A Pocketful of Stars

Aisha Bushby

Safiya and her mum have never seen eye to eye. Her mum doesn’t understand Safiya’s love of gaming and Safiya doesn't think they have anything in common. As Safiya struggles to fit in at school she wonders if her mum wishes she was more like her confident best friend Elle.

 

But then her mum falls into a coma and, when Safiya waits by her bedside, she finds herself in a strange and magical world that looks a bit like one of her games. And there’s a rebellious teenage girl, with a secret, who looks suspiciously familiar . . .

A magical middle grade book about family, friendship and finding out who you are, full of emotion and a secret fantasy world to discover. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Ross Welford and Kiran Millwood-Hargrave.

Age group: 9 to 12 yo

9781405293198.jpg
9781405272209.jpg

The Magic Faraway Tree

Enid Blyton

 

Join Joe, Beth and Frannie as they take their cousin Rick on a an adventure he’ll never forget – up the Magic Faraway Tree!

 

Along with their friends Moon-Face, Saucepan Man and Silky the fairy, the children tumble from the fun of the Land of Toys to the thrill of trying to escape the Land of Dreams. Will they ever make it home for tea?

Anything's possible in THE MAGIC FARAWAY TREE!

Come on a journey full of magic and adventure

Age group: 5 to 9 yo

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

Lemony Snicket

Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are intelligent children. They are charming, and resourceful, and have pleasant facial features. Unfortunately, they are exceptionally unlucky. 

 

In The Bad Beginning, the siblings encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune and cold porridge for breakfast.

In the tradition of great storytellers, from Dickens to Dahl, comes an exquisitely dark comedy that is both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted.

Age group: 8 to 12 yo

9781405266062.jpg
9781405294041.jpg

Comic Classics: Great Expectations

Jack Noel

OLD books get NEW doodles - it's the classics as you've never seen them before!

 

A hilarious new series that brings the classics to life with illustrations by Jack Noel. Perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Wimpy Kid and Dav Pilkey. And Charles Dickens.

Ten-year-old Pip gets the fright of his life when he meets an escaped convict in a spooky graveyard. And that's just the beginning of an adventure that will lead him to a house full of secrets, a strange old lady and a journey to the big city to seek his fortune. But Pip is in for a BIG surprise . . .

Join Pip in a rip-roaring story of family secrets, scary grannies and a REALLY annoying big sister in COMIC CLASSICS: GREAT EXPECTATIONS by Charles Dickens and Jack Noel.

Age group: 8 years and over

You're a Bad Man, Mr Gum

Andy Stanton & David Tazzyman

Good evening. Mr Gum is a complete horror who hates children, animals, fun and corn on the cob. This book’s all about him. And an angry fairy who lives in his bathtub. And Jake the dog, and a little girl called Polly. And there’s heroes and sweets and adventures and EVERYTHING.

 

The first book in the internationally best-selling series by Andy Stanton, which has won the Blue Peter Book Award, the Roald Dahl Funny Prize and the Red House Children’s Book Award.

Age group: 7 to 11 yo

9781405293693.png

This website has been created and is being run by Egmont UK Ltd - Company No. 449706, registered at 2 Minster Court, London, EC3R 7BB, United Kingdom. Please see below for links to our privacy policy and further information.